## Queensland Ambulance

## Proston

n 1951 a Committee was formed at Proston for the purpose of raising funds to enable the establishment of a QATB Sub-Centre which would function under the jurisdiction of the Murgon Centre Committee.

For some years, an Honorary Centre had been operating in the town with Honorary Ambulance Officer E. Boyd in charge.

The Sub-Centre commenced operations in September 1951 and the Officer-in-Charge was Senior Bearer E.C. Benson who had transferred from the Wynnum Centre.

A Ladies Benefit Committee was formed at a public meeting held on 14 February 1952.

On 4 July 1952 with the approval of the Murgon Committee, the Proston Advisory Committee agreed to purchase a dwelling in Wondai Road, Proston, from Mr P.R. Pike, for the sum of £1,800. This dwelling served as the Ambulance Sub-Centre and residence for the Officer-in-Charge.



Centre building

A public meeting was held on 10 September 1952 to discuss the matter of converting the Sub-Centre into a self-governing Centre. On 1 November 1952 Proston became an independent Centre and Mr Benson was appointed Superintendent and Secretary.

The first Committee appointed to administer the affairs of the new Centre were W.G. Knight (Chairperson), G.P. Dawson (Deputy Chairperson), Mrs E.N. Whitehead (Hon Treasurer), L.C. Day, J.S. Webb, C.C. Gordon and J.S. Fisher.

## Queensland Ambulance

Honorary officers assisting the Superintendent were G.P. Dawson and B.A. Freney.

The Centre building was officially opened by Mr J.A. Turner MLA, Deputy President of the State Executive Council.

In 1958 the Committee sought the assistance of Joh Bjelke-Petersen MLA, and Gordon Chalk MLA, in obtaining a parcel of land as a site for a new Ambulance Centre and residence for the Superintendent. Following acquisition of the land architects were engaged to prepare plans and specifications for new premises. Tenders were invited and the tender of R.A. Ridings for £6,340 was accepted.

The new Proston Ambulance Centre at Brigooda Road was officially opened by the Hon Frank Nicklin, Premier of Queensland, on 3 March 1962.

On 1 August 1979, a second permanent officer was appointed due to the increase in population in the area, because of the construction of the Boondooma Dam.

Superintendents who have served at the Proston Centre are:

1952 – 1956	E.C. Benson
1956 – 1959	J. Patrick
1959 – 1965	A.R. Thomas
1965 – 1971	R. Tobin
1971 – 1974	J. McLennan
1974 – 1976	P.J. Dunn
1976 – 1979	R. Meyers
1979 – 1982	H.J. Barclay
1982 – 1987	M.C. Miller
1987 – 1991	R. Greenwood

Present occupant Superintendent M.H. Schot (since 15 May 1991)

Since the establishment of the Proston Centre the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

1952 - 1963	W.G. Knight
1963 – 1969	J.S. Webb
1969 – 1972	G.E. Rankin
1972 – 1973	R. Perkins
1973 – 1980	D.W. Etherington
1980 – 1982	L. Argent
1982 – 1985	D. Phillips
1985 – 1990	R.J. Bartlett
1988 – 1989	S. Carfoot
1989 – 1990	W.A. Browne
Present occupant Chairperson	G.R. Buchanan