Queensland Ambulance

Nanango

public meeting was held on the night of 3 March 1942 to test the feelings of the residents of Nanango and District concerning the formation of a unit of the Queensland Ambulance Transport Brigade at Nanango.

An Organising Committee was set up consisting of G.A. Watt, Pastor J.W. Fletcher, T.P. Conroy, M.V. Powell, D.F. Walters, Sgt E.A. Caldwell and L. Kirkham. The committee was instructed to seek guidance from the General Secretary of the Queensland Ambulance Transport Brigade Executive Committee on the matter of establishing a Centre at Nanango. After much communication, this Organising Committee agreed that Nanango become a Sub-Centre of the Yarraman Centre.

The names of the seven members of the Organising Committee were submitted to the Head Centre for approval and one of the members, Mr Watt, was also elected as a member of the Yarraman Centre Committee.

Ambulance Officer J.L. Noble of the Mount Isa Centre was appointed Officer-in-Charge. After functioning for some 20 months the Sub-Centre Committee decided that a separate and independent Centre should be established at Nanango. With this end in view, approaches were made through the Yarraman Committee to the QATB Executive Committee with the result that Nanango became a self-governing Centre by gazettal from the Home Secretary's Office on 21 July 1944.

The first Superintendent was Mr Jim Noble, formerly Officer-in-Charge.



Fist premises

Ambulance operations were conducted from a residence in Alfred Street that was rented from Mr C.J. Halberstater.

The first vehicle was a 1938 Master Deluxe Chevrolet Sedan, the body of which was altered to permit a stretcher to be accommodated.

Queensland Ambulance

The first Honorary Bearers were L. Kirkhamand T. Hertiage.

Mr Cec Ormsby was appointed this Centre's first representative on the State Executive in 1945. At its meeting on 12 July 1952 the Committee decided to negotiate in all possible ways to build a new Centre. Subsequently Mr Gill of Kingaroy was engaged to prepare plans for the erection of ambulance premises on land set aside by the Government as an Ambulance Reserve at the corner of Henry and Elk Streets. Tenders were invited and considered at the February 1953 monthly meeting. In view of the cost further action was deferred.

In July 1955, a parcel of land at the corner of Gipps and Drayton Streets was purchased for the sum of £250. In 1956 Architects were engaged to prepare plans for the erection of ambulance premises on this site.

Superintendent Noble resigned in November 1956 and was succeeded by Deputy Superintendent E.C. Bradley of the Cairns Centre.

In 1960 a Public meeting chaired by Councillor D. McCauley was convened to discuss the launching of an Ambulance Building Fund Appeal. Mr Bob Morris, Shire Clerk, was appointed Director of the Appeal. Following several fundraising events sufficient funds (supplemented by a bank loan) were in hand to commence building operations.

A new Centre building and a residence for the Superintendent were erected on brigade land in Gipps Street at a contract price of approximately £11,000. The building was officially opened on 7 September 1961, by Mr Hugh Millar MBE, President of the Queensland Ambulance Transport Brigade State Executive.

Superintendent Bradley was appointed Assistant General Secretary in 1963.

Other Superintendents who have served at Nanango are K. Webster (1963-1967), W. Stewart (1967-1985), and the present Superintendent Ken Cuskelly.

In September 1988 Tarong Coal donated a parcel of vacant land on the corner of Drayton and Gipps Street as a site for new ambulance premises. Architects were engaged in June 1991 to prepare building plans.

Since the establishment of the Nanango Centre five people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

 1944 – 1964
 G.A. Watt

 1944 – 1964
 J.C. Fleming

 1966 – 1976
 W.L. Green

 1976 – 1988
 R.J.L. Morris

 Present occupant Chairperson
 J.R. Fleming