## HISTORY OF THE

Queensland Ambulance Home Hill

ATB services commenced in Home Hill in December 1951 when a Sub-Centre administered by the Ayr Centre was opened in temporary premises in Seventh Street, with Mr Arthur Elliot (formerly of the Townsville Centre) as Officer-in-Charge.

At the request of the Ayr Committee, the Chairperson of the Ayr Shire Council, Mr E.W. Ford convened a public meeting in the Home Hill School of Arts building on 16 December 1952 to discuss the matter of Home Hill becoming a self-governing Centre. In addition to the Chairperson and Superintendent of the Ayr Committee, 24 members of the general public (including Mr A. Coburn MLA) attended the meeting.

It was unanimously decided that the Minister of Health and Home Affairs should be requested to arrange for the proclamation of an Order in Council to raise the status of the service from a Sub-Centre to a Centre. Members present expressed the desire that Mr Elliot be appointed Superintendent of the new Centre.

In accordance with the request of the State Secretary a Provisional Committee comprising the following members was appointed: H.P. Luxton, A.S. Dunn, W. Breen, W.C. Rawnsley, G.D. Barton, H.W. Davies and H.L. Thompson. The Provisional Committee at its first meeting on 21 April 1953 elected the following office bearers: A.S. Dunn (Chairperson), W.C. Rawnsley (Deputy Chairperson), G.D. Barton (Honorary Treasurer) and A.J. Elliott (Secretary).



Committee and Superintendent Back Row: H. Luxton, B. Breen, H. Thompson, W. Davis, J. Munro Front Row: G. Barton, Superintendent A. Elliot, A. Dunn

HISTORY OF THE Queensland Ambulance

Following the calling of applications for the position of Superintendent/Secretary Mr A.J. Elliott was appointed.



First Staff

Two members of the original committee, Geoff Barton and Bill Rawnsley, were also honorary ambulance officers. Geoff resigned as an honorary ambulance officer in order to retain his position on the Committee, whereas Bill desired to remain on the honorary staff and subsequently resigned from the Committee.

The present Centre building was officially opened on 12 December 1954.



Left to Right: C.G. Stephens, A. Brown, C. McKay, R. Oliver

History of the Queensland Ambulance compiled by Ernie Bradley, 1999, 2nd edition 2021

HISTORY OF THE ueensland Ambulance

Superintendent Elliott retired in 1969 and was succeeded by Superintendent Col Stephens of the Winton Centre. Other Officers who have served in the position of Superintendent and Secretary are:

 1971-1976
 A. Brown

 1976-1983
 C. McKay

 1983-1989
 R. Oliveri

 Present occupant Superintendent John Nicholson

Since the establishment of this Centre the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

1953 – 1960	A.S. Dunn
1960 – 1961	R.S. Dawson
1966 – 1967	F. Galliott
1967 – 1976	J. Carse
1976 – 1988	G.D. Barton OAM (Posth)
Present occupant Chairperson	M.J. Davern