Lucensland Ambulance Kilcoy

stablished in April 1955 as a Sub-Centre of the Toogoolawah Centre, the Kilcoy Centre was granted self-government on 5 July 1958.

The first Superintendent was Mr Bob McCubben who was Officer-in-Charge of the Sub-Centre.

The original Committee comprised F.R. Brett (Chairperson), A.R. Aston (Treasurer), E.D. Carseldine, Dr. D.B. Wherrett, R.A. Bechly, S.E. Leeson and F.J. Brett.

Assisting the Superintendent were Honorary Bearers A.T. Sewell, K. Kliese, K. Hathaway, S.H. Phillips, A. Moodie and E.B. Carseldine.

A Ladies Committee was formed and it consisted of 12 members who conducted street stalls and raffles. The profits derived from these benefits in the first financial year were used to purchase office furniture and equipment for the car.

The building from which the service operated had been donated by the Stanley River Works Department. It had been dismantled and re-erected on Brigade land. In later years, the building was modernised and a separate low-set residence erected on land adjacent to the Centre building to accommodate the Superintendent and his family.



First Centre building

HISTORY OF THE ueensland Ambulance

Superintendent McCubben retired in November 1972 and Bearer Mervyn Lucas of Kingaroy was appointed to the vacant position. Superintendent Lucas transferred to the Atherton Centre at the close of 1982 and was succeeded by the present Superintendent Mr Trevor Hallewell.

Since the establishment of the Centre the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

F.R. Brett D.A. Jones F.F. Burt N.F. Lanes