Lucensland Ambulance Boonah

n July 1906, the Boonah Progress Association wrote to the Brisbane Centre seeking information about the operations of an Ambulance Service. No further action by Boonah residents was taken until 29 August 1922 when a public meeting was held in the Boonah Shire Hall to consider the question of establishing a local QATB Centre. The General Secretary (Captain E.R.B. Pike) and the Treasurer (Mr W.D. Grimes) of the QATB Executive were present to explain the aims and objectives of the Brigade and to offer assistance if needed.

It was explained that the Executive Committee would lend the sum of f,50 for current expenses and pay the deposit on a new ambulance vehicle.

At a meeting held in the School of Arts Library on 19 September 1922 supporters for a service decided to accept the generous offer of the QATB Executive and to take the necessary steps to establish an ambulance centre at Boonah. At this meeting the following persons were appointed to a Provisional Committee to give effect to the wishes expressed at the meeting: J. Daley (Chairperson), A.E.A. McCahon (Treasurer), R. Betts, R. Gray, J.E. Hendry, A. Korner, H. Kruger, J. Lawlor, H. Watson and Doctors Fraser and Lilley.

The duties of the Provisional Committee terminated on 30 June 1923 when, in pursuance of Brigade rules, a Committee of seven members was elected. Mr J. Daley remained as Chairperson until 1957.

Ambulance Officer Cyril Mills of the Mackay Centre was appointed Superintendent and Secretary at Boonah on 2 October 1922 and took up duty on 27 October. One of his first tasks was to canvass the district for funds and this he did on horseback.



Centre Building 1925

Aueensland Ambulance

The first ambulance vehicle arrived in December 1922 and the first transport call was to Mrs and Miss Roberts of Ayr who were holidaying in the district. The car had a bad start, however, for it collided with a train at the Park Street crossing.

During the first year of its operations, the Committee established Honorary Centres at Kalbar and at Cossart and Sons Sawmill with honorary Officers N. Lavery and J. Dixon in charge. Honorary Officer C. Stubbin was also appointed and he became a member of the permanent staff in 1926.

The longest serving honorary officer was Mr H. Krause who for many years was attached to the Honorary Centre at Kalbar. He retired in 1977 after having been associated with the Brigade for more than 50 years.

The Brigade was housed for about two years in a residence owned by Mrs Schiel in Park Street.

In August 1925, the Committee purchased the present building which has been considerably altered since then.

Upon his death in 1963 Superintendent Mills was succeeded by Superintendent Bill Hendry of the Taroom Centre. Superintendent Hendry passed away in 1972 and Superintendent Allen Pitt of the Biggenden Centre was appointed. Superintendent Pitt resigned in 1985 and his position was taken by Superintendent Noel Pegg of Charleville. Superintendent Pegg resigned in 1990. The present Superintendent is Mr Lindsay Roberts.

Since the establishment of the Ambulance Centre at Boonah the following persons have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

1922 – 1958 J. Daley

1958 – 1968 H.G. Slatter

1968 – 1973 P.F. Dwyer

1973 – 1974 W.H. Moffatt

1974 – 1982 R.D. Moffatt

1982 – 1984 and 1985 – 1988 R.L. Darvall

1984 – 1985 J. Grounds

Present occupant Chairperson Ross Wilson, since

March 1985



First Superintendent CW Mill