HISTORY OF THE

Queensland Ambulance Julia Creek

mbulance services were established in the Julia Creek district in 1930 when the Cloncurry Committee opened an Honorary Centre with Mr H. Benson in charge.

In 1937 a Sub-Centre was established with Mr Benson as Officer-In-Charge. In that year, the local Advisory Committee made application to the Department of Health and Home Affairs for an independent Centre. The application was deferred pending the development of the north-west hospital scheme.



First Centre building

Self-government was granted in 1938 and the gazetted area of operation was the whole of the McKinlay Shire. Mr H. Benson became the first Superintendent.

Superintendent Benson resigned in the latter part of 1951 because of his failing health. Ambulance Officer Jack Stevens of the Cairns Centre was appointed to the vacant position.

During the financial year 1953-54 the Committee purchased a block of land facing Bourke Street as a site for the new Ambulance premises. Some five years later a new Centre building was erected at a cost of $f_{2,200}$. This two-storey construction with a residence on top was opened, free of debt, by Mr J.A. Turner, Deputy President of the State Executive Committee.

On May 1960, it was decided to appoint a second permanent officer, the successful applicant being Mr W.B. (Bert) Smith.

HISTORY OF THE

ueensland Ambulance

Due to the recurring shortage of houses for residents, the Committee purchased a staff residence in 1962.

Since the resignation of Superintendent J.M. Stevens in 1954 the following officers have served in the positions of Superintendent and Secretary at the Julia Creek Centre:

1 1	J J
1954 – 1957	F.J. O'Farrell
1957 – 1962	K.J. Macklan
1962 – 1968	E.M. Maher
1968 – 1974	S.C. Warrener
1974 – 1976	J. Klohs
1976 – 1980	J.L. Kraft
1980 – 1983	W.S. Warrener
1983 – 1989	R.J. Lackey
Present occupant Superintendent	tE.J. Moynihan

Since the establishment of the independent Centre in Julia Creek the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

W. Barlow N.B. Langtree H.C. Fickling T.W. Foster J.E. Mathews E.J. O Sullivan G.M. Brown G.T. Sills M.P. Dwyer N.W. Drysdale Dr R. Jackson W. Rudd R. Ruback C.J. Harder B. Denham D. Spanagle A.J. Stuart