HISTORY OF THE

Rueensland Ambulance



ecause of the number of accidents that had been occurring in the outlying areas around Aramac, a Committee was formed on 2 March 1947 to provide an ambulance service for the Aramac District.

This Committee was known as the Aramac Voluntary Ambulance Brigade Committee. The original Committee consisted of Arch McGeorge (President), Tom Quilkey (Secretary), Sgt Les McConachey, Don Hadgraft, Bill O'Brien, Ernie Bunt, Mrs Ernie Bunt, Arthur Miller, Bill Kelly, Charles Roberts, Henry

Teasdale, Dr Ben Hanniman, Pug Edwards, Bert Atkinson and George Barnes.

At its second meeting, several new members were present when it was decided to seek permission to raise funds to provide an ambulance service.

By Order-in-Council of 26 May 1949 the Queensland Ambulance Transport Brigade Aramac Area was constituted and the following people were appointed to a provisional committee: B. Atkinson, A. McGeorge, L. McConachey, B. O'Brien, W. Kelly, C. Roberts and H. Teasdale.

Mr Henry Teasdale was appointed Chairperson on 28 July 1949 and retained that position until his retirement in 1984.

In August 1949, the first financial statement was presented showing a credit balance of $f_{25,15s,0d}$.

The first Superintendent was Senior Ambulance Officer Les Mills of the Roma Centre who commenced duty at Aramac in September 1951.

The first Centre building was officially opened by Mr Hugh Millar, President of the QATB State Executive Committee.



First Centre Building

HISTORY OF THE Queensland Ambulance

In 1971, owing to the prolonged drought, the financial position of the Centre prompted a request to the State Council for financial assistance. The Council advised the Committee that unless there was a substantial increase in local fundraising there could be a curtailment of ambulance services at Aramac. Through special fundraising activities and the receipt of a grant from the State Council this fate was averted.

Quarters

In November 1958, the Committee decided to purchase a parcel of land with an 88 foot frontage opposite the existing ambulance premises at a cost of f_4 3,14s,5d.

In 1976, because of the condition of the Superintendent's residence, the Committee purchased a more suitable dwelling situated on land adjoining that which was purchased in 1958. The purchase price was \$7,000.

The original buildings and land were sold in 1977 for the sum of \$2,250.

The present Centre building was opened on 14 October 1978 by Sir Douglas Fraser, President of the State Council.

In 1983 with the approval of the State Council, land and a building at Bruford Street, Muttaburra were purchased at a price of \$5,375 and an Honorary Centre was established in that town.

Staff

Superintendent Mills retired in 1974 and was succeeded by Mr C.R. Mackay who is presently Superintendent of the Townsville Centre.



First Chairperson H Teasedale (centre) (left-right) Supts LR Mills, R Makney, P Crawford, C McKay

HISTORY OF THE

ueensland Ambulance

Other officers who have served in the positions of Superintendent and Secretary at the Aramac Centre are:

1976 – 1977	C. Patterson
1977 – 1981	P. Crawford
1981 – 1984	R. Mackney
1984 – 1985	I. Drummond
1985 – 1987	R. Fletcher
1987 – 1989	R. Muller
1989 – 1991	Glen Balint and
Present occupant	I. Cornish

Chairpersons

Since the inception of the QATB service in Aramac there have been only two Chairpersons: Henry Teasdale Peter Landers