Queensland Ambulance Miles

Sub-Centre of the Chinchilla Centre was formed in Miles as the result of a public meeting held in July 1943. The work of organising for an effective service was placed in the hands of Superintendent F.W. Cash of Chinchilla with a local Advisory Committee to advise and assist.

The Advisory Committee comprised W.N. Coates, C.C. Gundry, T. Gadsby, J.W. Blackley, J.G. Willacy, T.W. Hair, T.B. Freeman, G. Mundall, T.J. Moore, S.B. Newberry, M.Y. Morgan, W.R. Etherton, F. Cormford and R.J. Simmonds.

It was resolved that a second-hand car should be purchased and then be converted into an ambulance vehicle, and that the Miles service should operate from 1 October 1943.

Applications for the position of Officer-in-Charge at Miles were invited and Bearer M.F. Horrigan of the Cairns Centre was selected. Mr Horrigan commenced duty on 23 October. He was assisted by Honorary Eric Ingram, Head Teacher of the Miles State School.

The service operated from premises in Pine Street which were rented in extremely reasonable terms from Mr Nick Cypros who altered and added to the building so as to conform to reasonable requirements.



First Premises

In December 1943, the Advisory Committee decided to apply to the Minister for Health and Home Affairs for the status of self-government. To conform to the requirements a public meeting was called to deal with the matter, and on 19 January 1944 it passed a resolution empowering the Advisory Committee to push for self-control.

On 29 April 1944, an Order in Council was gazetted making Miles an independent Centre, and naming as a Centre Committee: W.N. Coates, T.B. Freeman, C.C. Gundry, T. Gadsby, T.W. Hair, M.Y. Morgan and J.G. Willacy. The Committee appointed the following office bearers: W.N. Coates (Chairperson), T.B. Freeman (Deputy Chairperson) and C.C. Gundry (Hon Treasurer).

Queensland Ambulance

Applications were invited for the position of Superintendent, and Officer-in-Charge M.F. Horrigan was the successful applicant.

Mr Geo Mundall was appointed the Committee's first representative on the State Executive Committee.

By the close of the 1944-45 financial year the Honorary staff had a personnel of seven members - F.J. Ingram, K. Webb, N. Gundry, A. Little, A. Brown, T. Boothby and J. Dillon.

Honorary Centres were established at Wandoan, Dulacca, Drillham and Condamine and at Miles, Jackson and North Dulacca State Schools.



First Superintendent M.F. Horrigan

Due to the increased workload, the Committee decided to appoint a second permanent officer. The successful applicant for the position was Mr W. McCreath.

On two occasions the Committee requested that the QATB Executive Committee and the Department of Health and Home Affairs permit the opening of a Sub-Centre of the Miles Centre at Taroom. The proposal was not favourably received as it was considered that any service at Taroom should be self-controlled. However, in April 1947 a Sub-Centre was established at Taroom and Bearer Tipper of Brisbane was appointed Officer-in-Charge. In December 1949 Taroom was gazetted as an independent Centre and Tom Tipper appointed Superintendent and Secretary.

After the acquisition of a suitable site and five years of investigation and planning as to the most suitable building to erect, tenders were called in May 1955 for the construction of the present building. Eight tenders were received and, with the approval of the Minister for Health and Home Affairs, the lowest tender (from Mr C.D. Crowther for £20,823) was accepted. The new building, containing 65,000 bricks, was officially opened by the Hon L.F. Diplock MLA Minister for Public Information on 3 November 1956.

In October 1975, after 32 years of dedicated service at the Miles Centre, Superintendent Horrigan resigned because of poor health and Superintendent R. Turner was appointed in his stead.

The Honorary Centre at Tara was raised in status to that of a Sub-Centre, with a permanent officer in 1976, and similar transition occurred at Wandoan and Meandarra in 1977.

Superintendent Roy Turner resigned in 1985 and other officers who have occupied the positions of Superintendent and Secretary are Maurice Sweedman (1985-90) and Leo McNamara.

Since the establishment of the service in Miles the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

W.N. Coates

R. Henderson

T.B. Freeman

D. Hoffman.

J.B. Stiller