Queensland Ambulance Lujune

o minimise the delay in attending to the sick and injured in the Injune area, the QATB Roma Committee decided to establish a Sub-Centre in the town of Injune in April 1953. Ambulance Officer W.J. (Mick) McCartney was appointed Officer-in-Charge and carried out his ambulance duties from rented premises.

In 1955 Officer McCartney returned to the Roma Centre and Ambulance Officer W.M. Stewart of that Centre was appointed Officer-in-Charge of the Injune Sub-Centre. Also in that year ambulance operations were transferred to a dwelling in Injune that was purchased for the sum of f1,500.

At this time the Advisory Committee at Injune comprised W. Sheehan (Chairperson), F. Sorensen, C. Hodson, W. Clarke, V. Bischof, J. May, H. Jackson and H.R. Stephenson.

On 20 December 1958, Injune was gazetted as a self-governing Centre and commenced operations as such on 1 January 1959.



First premises

The Centre was officially opened on 7 March 1959, by Mr Hugh Millar, MBE President of the QATB State Executive. It is interesting to note that Injune became the 100th Centre of the Brigade in Queensland in the centenary year of the State.

Officer-in-Charge Bill Stewart became the Centre's first Superintendent and the Committee in office at the time comprised F.N. Sorensen (Chairperson), W. Clark (Deputy Chairperson), C.E. Hodson (Hon Treasurer), M. Harland, H.J. Jackson, H.R. Stephenson and C.V. Bischof.

Superintendent Stewart transferred to the Nanango Centre in 1967 and was replaced by Mr W.B. (Bert) Smith, who at the time was officer in charge of the Moura Sub-Centre.

Queensland Ambulance

On 16 November 1968, Sir Douglas Fraser, ISO President of the QATB State Council performed the official opening of the \$35,000 Centre building and Superintendent's residence in the presence of 200 town and district residents.

Since the transfer of Superintendent Bert Smith to the Monto Centre in March 1976, the following officers have occupied the positions of Superintendent and Secretary:

 1976
 R. Winter

 1976 – 1978
 G. Reynolds

 1978 – 1988
 A. Young

 1988 – 1990
 S.T. Irving

 Present Officer-in-Charge
 Mr Steve Picknell

Since the establishment of Injune as an independent Centre the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

1959 – 1964 F.N. Sorensen 1964 – 1970 H.R. Stephenson

 1970 – 1979
 A. Evans

 1979 – 1985
 R.H. Warrian

(son of nephew (T.

Warrian) of the founder (S Warrian) of the CATB in

1892)

 1985 – 1988
 J. Wilson

 1988
 G. Cooke

 1988 – 1989
 C. Faulkner

 Present occupant Chairperson
 R. Neven



R.H. Warrian son of nephew of the 1892 CATB founder