HISTORY OF THE Lucensland Ambulance Hinsville

he Ambulance Service in Collinsville was established in March 1923 after a visit in February by Mr F. Bourne, Chairperson and Mr C. Williams, Superintendent of the Mackay Centre, who convened a public meeting in Dunlop's Hall. At this meeting it was decided to form a Sub-Centre attached to the Mackay Centre, and a Committee was elected to administer the affairs of this local service.

Deputy Superintendent F. Culverhouse was transferred from Mackay to become the Officer-in-Charge. As the local committee was not in a position to erect its own headquarters, the manager of the State Coal Mine kindly agreed to allow the brigade to have the use of a room at the mine office. In June 1923 the Committee decided that the financial position of the Sub-Centre warranted Collinsville becoming an independent Centre. The Mackay Centre Committee relinquished the control of the Collinsville service on 30 June 1923.

Mr F. Culverhouse was appointed Superintendent and he was assisted by Honorary Bearers J.K. Peace (in charge of the Honorary Centre at Scottville), G.G. Ogg, R.F. Bartlett, G.H. Furness and R. Marsh. The first Committee consisted of J. Conway (Chairperson), F.R. Reed (Hon Treasurer), A.H.W. Cunningham, W. Gralton, A. Smedley, R.G. Cochrane and E. Gordon.

Shortly after his appointment as Superintendent Mr Culverhouse transferred back to Mackay to take charge of the local brigade. He was succeeded by Deputy Superintendent R.W. Hughes, Officer-in-Charge of the Mount Garnet Centre of the Cairns Centre.

On September 1927 the Committee negotiated with Mrs Bartlett for the purchase of her residence in Blake Street to be used as an Ambulance Centre. The purchase price was £550 with a deposit of £150 and the balance payable at the rate of £25 per quarter.

Superintendent Hughes resigned on 3 August 1937 and was succeeded by Honorary Bearer W.R. (Bill) Howarth.

In 1941, due to the closure of the Mount Coolon mine and the subsequent fall in the population, the Collinsville Committee was asked by the QATB State Executive to take over that Centre. After consulting with the Mount Coolon Committee it was decided to close down their service and all the ambulance property was handed over to the Collinsville Centre.

Bill Howarth retired in 1961 due to his state of health. The next Superintendent was Senior Bearer R. Robinson of Bowen.

Following the resignation of Ron Robinson in 1963, Kevin Plumb Officer-in-Charge of the Sarina Sub-Centre was appointed to the vacant position.

He immediately set about raising funds for the construction of a new Centre building and Superintendent's residence. After five years of hard work by Superintendent Plumb and his Committee,

Queensland Ambulance

new premises were constructed and officially opened free of debt on 7 December 1968, by Sir Douglas Fraser, President of the QATB State Council.

Superintendent Plumb retired in 1983 and since then other officers who have served as Superintendent and Secretary are:

1983 – 1986 D. Fay

Present occupant

Superintendent G.P. Skerman

Since the establishment of the service the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

1923 - 1924J. Conway 1924 - 1936W.G. Harvey 1936 - 1958H.B. McCarthy 1958 - 1963E. Ryan 1963 - 1964D. Munro 1964 - 1970H. Stokes 1970 - 1988R.J. Woolley 1988 - 1990B.C. Betts

Present occupant

Chairperson Mr A.J. List