## HISTORY OF THE Queensland Ambulance Thursday Island

n 29 July 1950 the Cairns Committee established a Sub-Centre on Thursday Island to operate in conjunction with the Thursday Island Hospitals Board. Ambulance Officer W. Bowman of the Mount Isa Centre was appointed Officer-in-Charge.

Mr Bowman resigned in November 1952 and was succeeded by Mr R Jenkins formally of the Cairns Centre. Bob Jenkins transferred to the Gordonvale Centre in June 1953.

Following the resignation of Officer-in-Charge Jenkins, the QATB Advisory Committee decided to call a public meeting to discuss the future status of the local ambulance service. At the meeting that was held on 7 July 1953, it was resolved to approach the appropriate authorities for permission to establish a self-governing Centre.

Thursday Island Centre gained its independence and commenced operations as a Centre on 14 December 1953. The Centre Committee comprised P.J. Killoran (Chairperson), E.K. Thorpe (Deputy Chairperson), N. Bruce (Hon Treasurer), M.R. Quantock, C.H. Clarke, William Ahmat and Amoy Benjamin. The first Superintendent appointed was Superintendent A. Lamberton of Baralaba. Mr H.A. (Bunny) Adair MLA was the Committee's first representative on the QATB State Executive Committee.

By June 1954 the plant consisted of a Ford Ambulance van costing £1,902 which arrived at the Island in May and a 1942 Ford van which was handed to the Centre by the Thursday Island Hospital Board. The service was operated from rented premises until the financial year 1956-1957 when a residence was purchased from Mr L. Croft at a figure less than the estimated cost of erection of a new building. This building has received extensive renovations over the years.



Centre building

## Aucensland Ambulance

Superintendent Lamberton transferred to the Cloncurry Centre in 1958 and since that time the following officers served as Superintendent and Secretary at Thursday Island:

1958 – 1962	J.M. Carroll
1962 – 1965	K.J. Macklan
1965 – 1966	R Yarrow
1966 – 1971	K.J. McPherson
1971 – 1973	D.T. Easton
1973 – 1975	N. Church
1975 – 1979	W. Buckley
1979 – 1981	V.M. Torrens
1981 – 1984	R. Cox
1984 – 1986	S. Allen
1986 – 1990	E.J. Shepherd
December 2 and Comparint and ant C'T Incide	

Present occupant Superintendent S.T. Irving

Since the establishment of the self-governing Centre the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

P.J. Killoran

C.F. Reardon

N. Bruce

R. Yarrow

T. Sheppard

J.R. Buchanan

M.J. Fraser