## Queensland Ambulance Clifton

he Warwick QATB Committee established an Honorary Centre at Clifton in November 1907. A new Ashford litter was purchased and was placed in the care of Mr F.W. Wearne, a Bank Officer with the Queensland National Bank.

In 1911, due to the generous support of the residents, a building measuring 18 feet by 22 feet was erected on ground leased by the Railway Department to house the plant. The first block was laid on 7 September 1911 by the Governor Sir William MacGregor. A four-wheel ambulance horse wagon was then added to the plant.

On 22 January 1913 the Honorary Centre was converted into a Sub-Centre and Mr J.A. Ison was appointed Officer-in-Charge, with the rank of Deputy Superintendent. He was assisted by Honorary Member F. Brown.

At the end of September 1915 Clifton Sub-Centre was granted separation from the Warwick Centre and Mr Ison was appointed Superintendent and Secretary of the new self-governing Centre. The provisional Committee which was appointed at a public meeting comprised J.C. Gillam (Chairperson), W.R. Ross (Hon Treasurer), J. Gallagher, F.D.R. Grant, R.G. Pardy, D. Thompson, A.N. Ross, E.P. Wills, E. Clarkson, M. Glancy, P.G.A. Murphy, G.F.W. Stanley, F.S.M. Patterson, A. Norton, C.A. Hurley, J. Logan, N.H. Drury and W. Marshall.

In 1916, relying on the fundraising efforts of the Ladies Committee, the Committee purchased a Ford Chassis for £170 and the Superintendent built a body on it which meant a saving of some £30. It is interesting to note that the vehicle was fitted with Acetylene gas lamps.



Brigade building 1911

## Queensland Ambulance

In June 1918 the Committee decided to make an offer of £75 for the land at the corner of John and Queen Streets, and in April 1919 the Committee purchased a cottage from Mrs F. Anderson for the sum of £300. The cottage was rebuilt on the ambulance land by S.G. Muir and J.H. Flynn. A second vehicle, a Chandler, was added to the plant in 1919.

Following the resignation of Superintendent Ison, Mr Edward Clark, formerly of the staff of the Brisbane Centre was appointed Superintendent taking up duty on 26 March 1919.

During 1919, with the outbreak of pneumonic influenza, the Centre undertook the task of fumigating schools, houses, etc. In the Annual Report of the Committee for that year the Chairperson acknowledged the excellent services performed by Honorary Bearers Walter Marshall and W. Phillips. In May 1940, 25 years after the establishment of the independent service the tender of E.W. Horn for £1,089 was accepted to build a new Centre. The modern brick single-storey structure was officially opened on Wednesday 3 December 1940 by the Minister for Health and Home Affairs (and later Premier) Honorable E.M. Hanlon, in the presence of a large gathering. A guard of honour by the children of the State and Convent Schools was formed to meet the Minister.

The construction of this building was made possible by the donation of the sum of £605 from the Clifton Cottage Hospital Movement and local donors who contributed to the Building Fund Appeal. Honorary Officer Walter Marshall passed away in 1991, aged 101 years. He ministered to the needs of the sick and injured from the age of 17.

Since the establishment of the self-governing Centre the following officers have served in the position of Superintendent and Secretary:

1915 – 1919	J.A. Ison
1919 – 1925	E. Clark
1925 - 1932	W.E. Powell
1932 - 1937	M.C. Achilles
1937 - 1940	W.G. Inwood
1940 - 1941	W.J. Walters
1941 – 1962	V.N. Dux
1963 – 1984	E.W. Winkel
1984 - 1990	K. Larsen

## Present occupant

**Superintendent** Glen Camplin

Those who have occupied the position of Chairperson of the Committee are as follows:

1915 – 1916	J.C. Gillam
1917 - 1923	N.H. Drury
1923	J. Meara
1924	R. Pickering
1924 - 1925	H.W. Hinrichson
1925 - 1926	P.G.A. Murphy
1926 - 1932	H.W. Hinrichson
1932 - 1949	A. Morton
1949 – 1964	F.E. Logan
1964 – 1986	J.C. Hegarty
1986 – 1988	H.A.G. Ebneter
From 1988	J.F. Logan