## Lucensland Ambulance Texas

'n July 1956, the QATB Inglewood Committee opened a Sub-Centre in Texas with Ambulance Officer Bob Jenkins (formerly of the Gordonvale Centre) as Officer-in-Charge.

On 26 April 1958, Texas was gazetted as a self-governing Centre. On 14 June, at a very pleasant function in the grounds of the Centre, the handing over from Inglewood Centre was conducted by Mr Hugh Millar, President of the QATB State Executive Committee, assisted by Mr S.A. Schieb, Deputy Chairperson of the Inglewood Committee. The Sub-Centre's Officer-in-Charge (Mr R. Jenkins) was appointed Superintendent and Secretary.

Members of the Committee of the new independent Centre were B.C. Grayson (Chairperson), K.W. Raison (Hon Treasurer), L.F. Gannon, W.T. Chauvel, F.W. Que, J.K. Ryan and J. Griffiths. Mr Bill Sturgeon was the first Honorary Bearer appointed to assist the Superintendent and the first Chairperson of the Ladies Committee was Mrs F. Gannon.

In 1966, Superintendent Jenkins transferred to the Millmerran Centre and Ambulance Officer F. Freeman of the Mount Morgan Centre was appointed to the vacant position.

Since the establishment of the self-governing Centre at Texas only two people have occupied the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

1958 - 1971B.C. Grayson Present occupant Chairperson George Wright



Centre building