Queensland Ambulance

Taroom

he Miles Committee opened a Sub-Centre in Taroom in April 1947 and Bearer Tom Tipper of the Brisbane Centre was appointed Officer-in-Charge. For a few years prior to this opening the QATB State Executive Committee and the Department of Health and Home Affairs had twice requested the residents of Taroom to allow the Miles Committee to establish the sub-centre but the suggestion had been rejected in favour of a self-governing centre.

In December 1949 Taroom gained its independence and Mr Tipper was appointed Superintendent and Secretary. The first Honorary Bearer appointed to assist Superintendent Tipper was Mr A.G. Smith. Members of the first Committee were P. Pestorius (Chairperson), J.T. Williams (Deputy Chairperson), T.J. Carroll (Hon Treasurer), W.M. Kearnan, V. Kalquist, A.G. Smith and F. Martin.

The service was operated from rented premises in Kinnoul Street until the Committee had sufficient funds in hand to purchase a dwelling also in Kinnoul Street with a shed that accommodated the ambulance vehicles. The casualty room and office were in the front section of the Superintendent's residence. The Centre's Ladies Committee played a large part in raising funds to assist in the purchase of the building.



Centre building 1950

Superintendent Tipper transferred to the Biloela Centre in December 1951 and was succeeded by Bearer L. Holt of the Miles Centre, who in turn was replaced by Bearer W.G. Hendry of the Mackay Centre in June 1952.

Queensland Ambulance

In 1958 a new garage was erected to accommodate the two vehicles.

Superintendent Bill Hendry transferred to the Boonah Centre in December 1963 and Mr Don Dewar, Officer-in-Charge of the Goovigen Sub-Centre (Biloela Centre), was appointed to the vacant position. In June 1967 a Building Fund Committee was formed which comprised energetic members of the community who devoted much time to the task of raising funds to erect a new Centre.

During the 1967-68 financial year, the newly formed QATB State Council honoured Mrs Elizabeth Anderson, Mrs W. Kehl, Mrs Rose Kalquist, Mrs Mary Rate, Mrs Helen Scott, Mrs W. Phipps, Mrs Margaret Williams and Mr A.G. Smith with Meritorious Service Awards. These were presented on behalf of the State Council at a function held in their honour.

In October 1968 the Committee decided to engage a second permanent officer and the appointee was local Honorary Bearer Ralph Meyers.

In the Annual Report of the Committee for the year ended 30 June 1969, the Chairperson stated that it had been decided not to erect the new centre on the allotment on the corner of Kinnoul and Kelman Streets. This was because a more suitable site, opposite the State School in Yaldwyn Street, had been made available by the Taroom Shire Council.

The construction of new premises was completed in 1973 and the official opening of the Centre building was performed by Mr K.B. Tomkins MLA on 24 March that year.

After nine years of excellent service at Taroom, Superintendent Don Dewar resigned in May 1973 and was succeeded by Superintendent Roy Turner of Dirranbandi.

Superintendent Turner transferred to the Miles Centre in 1976 and since that time other officers who have served as Superintendent and Secretary are:

1976 – 1978 John Klohs
 1978 – 1985 Keith Leask
 Present occupant Superintendent Graham Becker

Since the establishment of the Centre the following people have filled the position of Chairperson of the Committee:

 1949 – 1952
 P. Pestorius

 1952 – 1958
 J.M. Mundell

 1958 – 1965
 A.S. Moffatt

 1965 – 1968
 J.L. Baxter

 1968 – 1979
 R.V. Kalquist

 1979 – 1985
 K. Williams

 Present occupant Chairperson
 B.H. Smith